Senate Elections 2025

The following individuals are due to retire as elected members of Senate on 31 July 2025:

Professor Chris Baldwin Professor Catherine Exley Professor Anoop Nayak

A further vacancy exists as the result of the resignation from the University of a member earlier in the year.

Dr Marie Devlin Professor Darren Kelsey (elected prior to promotion to Chair)

Nominations are therefore invited for the following vacancies:

Professorial constituency

4 to serve from 1 August 2025 to 31 July 2028

The persons elected must be drawn from the professoriate of the University.

Non-Professorial constituency

2 to serve from 1 August 2025 to 31 July 2028

The persons elected must be drawn from the academic staff of the University who are not professors.

Members of Senate whose appointments are due to terminate on 31 July 2025 or who retired in 2024 are not eligible for re-election on this occasion. The following <u>are therefore</u> not eligible for re-election on this occasion:

Professor Chris Baldwin	Professor Caroline Austin
Professor Catherine Exley	Professor Darren Evans
Professor Darren Kelsey	Professor Jens Hentschke
Professor Anoop Nayak	Professor Alexandra Hughes
Dr Marie Devlin	
	Dr Shoba Amarnath
	Dr Anjam Khan
	Dr Gareth Longstaff
	-

Candidates are asked to provide a brief (not more than 250 words) statement about themselves for the benefit of the electorate. It should be a personal statement, including details of roles undertaken, what they would want to contribute as a Senator, and what issues they are interested in from a governance point of view. Name, full title and academic/PS unit do not count towards the word limit. For reasons of fairness, any statement that is longer than 250 words will be returned to the candidate for editing.

Candidates are asked to bear in mind that the term of appointment is for three years and that they should normally be able to make that commitment when standing.

Members of the electorate are asked to observe the following procedures:

- 1. Nominations and candidate statements should be sent to the Governance Office, by email (governanceoffice@ncl.ac.uk) marked 'Confidential Senate Membership', to arrive by not later than 9.00am on Monday 2 June 2025.
- 2. Nominations should be in writing and, if made on behalf of a colleague, should not be made without their consent. Confirmation of consent should be included with the nomination.

Dr C Campbell Registrar May 2025